It has come to this..

I dislike jogging. At school, between the ages of 10-13, we had to jog 2.5km (approx. 1.5 miles) every bloody Friday, rain or shine. Since kids aren’t stupid, we managed to find some loopholes (read shortcuts) and – surprise! – ended up back at the school in record time.

I have never been interested in sports. My brother has always been the sporty one, playing football (soccer, according to some), floorball (stupidest name ever) and a whole lot of running around in the woods. I do like working out, but to be honest I believe I like it mainly because it helps me to lose weight.

Zumba, gym, walks, swimming – all good. But I have never understood jogging.

And yet I have promised a friend I will begin this week – tomorrow, actually – to do just that: jog.

I will start slow, of course, doing intervals jog/walk. I can sometimes look at people jogging or running – the look more often than not envious – and wish I could understand what is so great about it.

Hopefully, come Sunday, I will understand it a little bit better.

So wish me luck and I will update you all on how it went and exactly how sore my muscles are.

Until next time.

Leave a comment