Snow, rain & wind

I have been home for almost one month. When leaving Britain I had a list of things to do during Christmas break, and well.. I haven’t exactly started doing any of those things. I just can’t be bothered.

Instead I spend my days reading, watching TV shows (at the moment the TV is playing episode 5 of “Suburgatory”), spending time with friends and family. What I should be doing is re-writing my resumé and applying for jobs all over the planet.

You know, a year ago I didn’t know what ‘procrastination’ meant. I had never heard of it until I went to the States and spent a lot of time with students who all seemed to mention the word in every other sentence. I guess that’s what I am doing – I should be working on my resumé, instead I am re-reading all my books and planning on watching the “Resident Evil” movies.

The weather has been all but fun. A couple of days after I got home it snowed for hours and hours, covering the ground in what looked like soft, fluffy cotton. The temperature dropped and it was so beautiful outside.

Unfortunately it didn’t stay that way. A week later all the snow was gone and we celebrated Christmas with the sun shining from a clear-blue sky. It was so very wrong. Christmas is supposed to be dark, with grey skies and snow. Instead we were sweating in our winter coats when we walked to my grandparents on the morning of December 24th.

Since then we have seen another storm, more snow, rain and wind. When I picked up my friend at the airport we saw flooding everywhere, and when the wind starts howling the trees fall like dominos because the ground is too soft and can’t hold them.

A friend of mine is in India for two months. I am extremely jealous. I too want to go to exotic places – such as India – and experience different cultures, meet new people. Britain is old news now – I have been there almost three years and the thrill is gone.

In two hours I am off to my grandmother. I will stay there until 4 pm – that’s when my dad gets off work – and then we’ll (dad and I) walk his daily walk around town before we get the mail at the post office and return home.

So far today I have composed several cards to friends, made sure I can go to my brother’s place tomorrow for dinner and a movie with him and his girlfriend. Friday will be spent with my sister, I have a birthday party to attend on Saturday and Sunday I am meeting a friend I haven’t seen in 6 months.

My mum cleaned the house Sunday, putting away the Christmas decorations. I don’t mind, the house is still very pretty. When my friend was here she commented on the many lamps (we have one in almost every window) and wondered if it’s only in the winter, when it’s dark most of the day.

Well, no. I guess we don’t think about it, but we have lamps all year round. It makes the house seem brighter, more comfortable. She’s from Germany, and she claimed they don’t do it that way – decorate their houses as we do. I like it though, and I know that wherever I end up, I will make sure to make my home comfortable and pretty.

Leave a comment